top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Outback Steakhouse

When you search "gluten free restaurants," Outback Steakhouse is one of the first options to pop up. But, is it a good option? Well, I ventured over there to get the full experience and here are my thoughts...


I LOVE when a restaurant has a separate gluten free menu. This just makes life way easier to figure out what is safe and not safe to eat. On top of that, I LOVE when there are more than 5 choices for me to pick from. This menu was pretty extensive. It had 1 appetizer, 2 salads, a lot of meat choices, a couple sides and 1 dessert. The dessert was also a big bonus because it was something other than the normal ice cream most restaurants serve as a gluten free dessert option. It was a gf brownie with ice cream, chocolate sauce, pecans and whipped cream, YUM! Unfortunately, I was too full to get this, but you can bet I am saving room for next time.


I kept it pretty simple with my order. I got the steak and shrimp combo with a loaded baked potato and seasonal veggies (broccoli, carrots & zucchini). The meat was delicious and cooked just how I like it. The steak was tender and juicy and the shrimp had great flavor. The sides were very underwhelming though. My baked potato was pretty dry after 2 bites and the veggies were hard which I don't prefer. (PS- does anyone else liked their cooked veggies to be on the softer/mushier side? Or is it just me?)


Overall I would give Outback a 7/10 because I feel sort of in the middle. They didn't blow my mind but they also didn't disappoint. If you are a protein person than Outback is the place for you. If you are more of a sides person, like myself, then maybe check out another restaurant that has more generous gluten free sides. I would love to see Outback extend their gluten free sides beyond just veggies and potatoes. One can dream, can't they?


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page