top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Lemon Glazed Pound Cake

Pound Cake:

1 1/2 sticks of softened butter

1 1/4 cups sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Zest of 1 lemon

2 cups GF flour (I used King Arthur)

1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/4 cup sour cream


Icing:

2 cups powdered sugar

4 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice


  1. Using a mixer, cream together the softened butter and sugar until they become light and fluffy

  2. Add in your eggs one at a time until well combined

  3. Mix in the vanilla, baking powder, salt and lemon zest

  4. Add in flour and while it is mixing, add in the lemon juice and sour cream until it creates a thick batter

  5. Place parchment paper into a loaf pan leaving overhang on two or more sides

  6. Spray the parchment paper and then pour or plop in the batter

  7. Use a spatula to smooth out the top

  8. Place it in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, then bring the temperature down to 325 degrees and cook it for another 45-50 minutes

  9. For the icing, combine the powdered sugar and lemon juice into a bowl and mix using a mixer

  10. Once the pound cake has cooled, pour the icing over the cake until it is completely covered

I was so excited to try the recipe because I used to love pound cake when I was younger. I just loved how moist and dense it was, so this recipe was a little nostalgic for me. I figured it would be fun to try a lemon recipe with spring and Easter coming. I also wanted to see if I could get that dense and moist conisistency altering this recipe to be gluten free. I was up for the challenge!


Combining the pound cake with the lemon flavoring and the icing was perfection. Sometimes lemon flavoring can be overpowering, but this had the perfect amount. It all turned out better than I expected. However, it did come out a little dry which I think was because I cooked it too long. I originally left it in for an hour at 325, and I think if I would've taken it out 10-15 minutes earlier, it would've had that perfect consistency I was wanting. That's why I suggested the time to be 45-50 minutes.


Overall though, I was so happy with how this turned out. It stayed together really nicely, the cake was dense, the lemon flavoring was delicious and the icing was amazing too! It all just went really well together. I am definitely going to have to remake this in the future.


Watch Full Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7Am4f5zgQw

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page