top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Onion Rings

Updated: Feb 25, 2021

1 sweet onion

1 1/4 cups all purpose GF flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 egg

1 cup milk

3/4 cup bread crumbs

Vegetable oil to fill up fry pan


  1. Slice the onions long ways and then separate them into individual pieces

  2. Pat onion pieces dry with a paper towel and set aside

  3. In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt

  4. Coat each individual onion piece into the flour mixture

  5. In another bowl, whisk together the egg and milk

  6. Combine the flour mixture and milk/egg mixture together and stir

  7. If the batter is too thick, add in small amounts of water slowly to create a thinner consistency

  8. Individually dip the onion into the batter, then the bread crumbs and set into the fry pan with heated vegetable oil

  9. Once the bottom side has turned a darker brown, flip it

  10. When the coating has turned completely brown, set it on a paper towel to dry


This is by far my favorite recipe I have done because these onion rings are INSANELY DELICIOUS!! When frying something gluten free, oftentimes it loses that crunch, but these onion rings have an amazing texture that provides the perfect amount of crispiness and crunch. I almost like these even better than normal onion rings that I have had before going gluten free. My husband and I scarfed these down in probably less than 10 minutes, and we still couldn’t get enough. I cannot emphasize enough how much you all need to try this recipe! The gluten free flour I used is one of my personal favorites, Krusteaz, and then for the bread crumbs I used Ian’s Panko Breadcrumbs (Links below).





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page