top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Biscuits

1 1/2 sticks of butter

2 1/2 cups GF flour (I used Krusteaz)

4 tsp sugar

4 tsp baking powder

2 tsp salt

2 cups buttermilk


  1. Turn oven to 425 degrees, and while it is heating up melt 1 stick of butter in glass baking dish. *Make sure to check butter frequently so it does not brown

  2. In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix together with a wooden spoon.

  3. Add in buttermilk and mix together using a dough hook.

  4. Once everything is well combined and a sticky consistency, place the mixture on top of the butter.

  5. Flatten the dough by using the bak of wooden spoon. Spraying the back of your spoon with an olive oil spray helps with the dough not sticking too much.

  6. Melt 1/2 stick of butter and pour that on top as well.

  7. Baking for about 20-30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

This recipe caught my eye because it doesn't involve rolling, rising or yeast. You basically combine simple ingredients, put into a baking dish and cook it in the oven. I wondered if this would turn out the same being gluten free, and I decided to try it for the 1st time on video to share the experience with those watching. This was risky because I had absolutely no clue if this recipe would be a hit or miss.


When the biscuits came out of the oven, I was VERY nervous. They looked very dry and flavorless, which we don't need more of being gluten free eaters. I took a bite in it for the very first time on camera and it surprised me. It actually tasted really great!! The butter at the bottom added a great flavor and texture to the biscuits. Of course my go to will always be gluten free red lobster biscuits, but if you are wanting to make homemade biscuits, this is a great and simple recipe.


Once mistake I did make is that I must not have mixed the flour as well as I thought I did. When it came out of the oven, there were some areas where it was just flour, so making sure that next time I really mix it together well. Then, one thing I would change is I would pour some more melted butter on top of the mixture. This will add even better flavor and texture to the top of the biscuits just like it did to the bottom.


Overall, I was impressed with how well this turned out. I will definitely be making it again!


Watch Full Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iHKcmBNRNI

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page