top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Brand vs Brand: Pasta

Are you ready to RUMMBBLLEE!?!?! Today we have three brands going head to head in competing for the title of best gluten free pasta. Our three contenders are Banza, Ronzoni and Barilla. Below you will find a full analysis and rating of each, along the winner announced at the end.


Banza: This was a brand I had never heard of, but it caught my eye because it was made from chickpeas. I got the rotini shape (my personal favorite) and this one really surprised me. It didn't have a grainy texture, stayed together really well and had a delicious taste. I only put a little butter and parmesan cheese on each of the noodle brands so I could fully taste the noodle without it getting lost in a sauce. This was the most expensive brand, but it did offer the most variety of pasta shapes. I even saw a GF bowtie shape which I have never seen before.


Ronzoni: Again, I got the rotini shape and this brand blew me out of the water. The texture of the noodle was perfect, there was no grainy texture for this brand either and overall the taste was out of this world. Ronzoni was in the middle price point for all three brands and that goes the same for the amount of shapes that it offers as well.


Barilla: This brand did not offer a rotini shape (BOOOO) so I got the penne. While it wasn't bad, it definitely was the worst out of the three. The noodle was very thick which made it hard to chew and the taste was very bland. It did not impress me overall. It is the cheapest brand but only offers three shapes: penne, spaghetti and fettuccine.


And the winner is... RONZONI!!! It was very close between Banza and Ronzoni, but Ronzoni came out on top. If you are willing to spend a little extra money on pasta, you can't go wrong with Banza, but Ronzoni is a little better tasting and cheaper so it's the best of both worlds!


I hope this was helpful in choosing what gluten free pasta to use in your next delicious pasta recipe :)




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page