top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Brownie Mixes

Today is Valentine's Day so why would we not celebrate with chocolate!?! There are a few gluten free brownie mixes out there, but which one gives you that perfect chewy, milky brownie? Well, I took the brands King Arthur, Betty Crocker and Krusteaz to find out. Here were my thoughts on each...


King Arthur (7/10): I have never had this brand before so I was curious to try it out. The texture was really good and have you that chewy, soft brownie that everyone is looking for. But, the flavoring wasn't my personal favorite. It had almost like a dark chocolate taste and I am more of a milk chocolate girl. So if you are a fan of dark chocolate, you would probably really enjoy this brand. I paid almost $5 for the box, and that is about the average price for a gluten free brownie mix (unfortunately....).


Betty Crocker (9/10): This has always been my go-to brownie mix, and now I know why! If you had a checklist of everything you want in a brownie, this one checks them all. It had an intense milk chocolatey flavor in every single bite. You feel like you are eating hot chocolate. And the texture just melt in your mouth because of how soft and chewy it was. Even the edges were pretty soft which is not normal for brownies. BONUS! It has chocolate chips in it too! I paid almost $6 for this box, which is a little more than the other, but worth the extra $1 in my opinion. LOVE LOVE LOVE!


Krusteaz (8.5/10): Honestly the texture was almost identical to the Betty Crocker brand. They both were super soft and chewy, melt in your mouth like I said earlier. The flavoring was a little different for Krusteaz. It had the milk chocolate taste that I love, but just not as much as Betty Crocker. It honestly was very close though between the two. This box was $5, so in the average range.


That means the winner of the brand vs. brand was BETTY CROCKER! I am obsessed with this brand and will always be using it moving forward. If you want to save that extra $1 though, you can't go wrong with Krusteaz. If you are a dark chocolate person, then you would enjoy the King Arthur brand. Whatever you choose though, you really can't go wrong with a brownie!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page