top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Crackers

The weather is warming up here in the south, which only gets me thinking about pool days! When I'm sitting and relaxing in the heat, I love snacking on some crackers and cheese. It's the perfect combo for those pool days, beach days or even picnics. You can add in some meats and fruits too and voila... you have the best summertime snack.


With that being said, I thought it was time to do a brand vs. brand, so what better food to compare than crackers. There are surprisingly a lot of gluten free cracker options out there, so I picked out 5. Each of these brands caught my eye because they are the best kind of crackers to pair with your fancy cheese, meat and fruit. You know the ones that are thinner and crispier? Each of these brands also had different flavors, but I kept it simple and stuck with sea salt. Here were my opinions and ratings of each....


Good Thins (5/10)- Unfortunately, the reason these rated low is because they were made from corn. This made them have more of a tortilla chip taste and not a cracker taste, so they didn't really match the vibe I was going for. Good Thins had a lot of different cracker and flavoring options. I just grabbed the wrong one and definitely want to go pick out a different one that might suit better with cheese, meats and fruit. The price was in the middle range at $3.29. Overall though I liked these crackers and think they would taste EXCELLENT with some guacamole.


Milton's Craft Baker's (7.5/10)- I really enjoyed the consistency of these crackers. They were thin and crispy, and had a texture that reminded me of pita chips. The down side was the sea salt flavoring. It just didn't do much for me, but again, they had other flavors lie multigrain and cheddar. I would definitely be open to trying the cheddar flavored one. These crackers would taste really good though with different cheese, meats and fruits, which is why it got a higher rating despite the lack of taste. This box cost about $4.00, which was on the higher side.


Blue Diamond Almonds (7/10)- I know what you're thinking, Blue Diamond Almonds makes gluten free crackers!?! I thought the same things.... This brand was actually the complete opposite of the Milton's brand. I really liked the flavoring. It had a perfect nutty and saltiness to it. The texture on the other hand wasn't for me. It was too crunch and dry. I like a crunchy cracker, but I don't want my jaw hurting after I eat one. If you're into those harder crackers though, you might really enjoy this brand. The Blue Diamond crackers were about $3.29 as well.


Simple Truth (7/10)- We know I haven't always had great luck with simple truth, but their crackers weren't too bad. They were almost exactly like the Blue Diamond crackers, which is why they have the same exact score. Simple truth had a good taste in their crackers, but the texture was way too hard. They were the cheapest box of crackers though and cost around $2.00.


Simple Mills (9/10)- This has always been my go-to and favorite cracker brand,, but I wanted to give others a try. Simple Mills still beat them out. Their crackers just has the perfect taste and crunch to it. It also would taste amazing with any kind of cheese, any kind of meat and any kind of fruit... it's just such a versatile cracker. On the own side though, it is pricey and cost about $5.50 for a box. They tasted the best though and beat out all of the other brands by quite a bit in my mind.


The clear winner was Simple Mills! I'm just obsessed with this brand and obsessed with all of the other cracker flavors they have out there. I do understand though that they price can be steep, so the Milton's brand would be a strong second. I'm definitely going to be snacking on Simple Mills crackers all summer long though!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page