top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Pancake Mixes

I.LOVE.PANCAKES. I don't know if I'm the only person, but pancakes are one of my favorite foods... especially if they have chocolate chips in them. Thankfully, there are quite a few gluten free pancake brands out there so I don't have to miss out on my favorite food. Since I was diagnosed, my mom bought me a pancake brand called Pamela's, and I fell in love with it. Since then it's just always been my go to mix because it never lets me down. There are quite a few other brand options out there though, so I figured it was time to put them up against my Ole Faithful. I whipped up a batch of Pamela's, Bob's Red Mill and Bisquick and taste tested each on without butter, syrup or any other kind of fluff. It was alllllll about the pancake. Here were my thoughts and ratings of each...


Pamela's (8.5/10)- I just love this brand. Like I said, it never lets me down and always produced a buttery, softt pancake. The flour can also be used in as a. baking mix as well, so it's nice to have it for multi-purposes. It is a bit pricey... I paid about $16.00 for the bag, BUT you get 4 pounds of flour. The other brands were 1 pound for about $4.75, so in the end, Pamela's is actually cheaper, AND it can be used for baking. Gluten free flour is so expensive in general, so I don't mind paying for good quality.


Bob's Red Mill (7.5/10)- When I first looked at these pancakes, I was not impressed. They looked dry, flavorless and just blah. They were a pleasant surprise though! They had a very sweet taste to them that was natural because I did not add any syrup or sweeteners. If you like a sweet pancake, then you will really love this brand. It personally was not my favorite because I like a more buttery flavoring to mine. For this brand, I paid $4.75 for a 1 pound bag, and it was strictly just pancake mix.


Bisquick (8.5/10)- Well, it happened... I found a brand I liked just as much as Pamela's! These tasted amazing just on their own. They were thick, fluffy and oh so buttery. I couldn't help myself and just kept picking more and more pieces off because of its addicting quality. For this brand, I paid $4.75 for a 1 pound bag, and it said it can be used to make biscuits as well (there were instructions included on how to do so).


So this brand vs brand battle ended in a tie between Pamela's and Bisquick. Both are honestly great options and it just comes down to personal preference. Bisquick made a very thick, fluffy pancake, while Pamela's made a thinner, more diner style pancake. The choice is up to you! But I definitely would highly recommend either of these brands.


Watch Full Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItDv6mp9LSU

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page