top of page
Writer's pictureLexie Shears

Brand vs. Brand: Cupcakes

This week is my BIRTHDAY!!! To celebrate, I wanted to figure out which gluten free cake mix would taste the best to make my birthday cake with this year. I tried 3 different brands and here are my thoughts....


Simple Truth Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix (6.5/10): This one surprised me because Simple Truth just has not been doing it for me lately, but their cake mix is probably my favorite item they have. The texture was very moist, and with the frosting it was delicious, but when I took just a bite of the cake, it didn't have a lot of flavor. It's not a bad option though if you add some flavored frosting or other flavoring into the cake mix.


Pillsbury Gluten Free Funfetti Cake Mix (7/10): I had high hopes for this one because funfetti is always delicious, but it disappointed me a little bit. This one was the opposite of Simple Truth. It had an amazing taste to it, but the texture was dry. If you care more about the flavor of a cake, then Pillsbury would be the one for you.


Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix (8/10): This one was my favorite overall because it had great texture and moisture, and the flavor was better than Simple Truth. The flavoring still wasn't the best ever, but again, with some frosting or added flavoring it was very tasty.


All of these were pretty close, but as you can see Betty Crocker won for me. Each one was a little different though, so I encourage you to try them all and see which one hits the best for you personally. I wouldn't say any of the 3 blew me away, but all solid choices.


Watch Full Video: https://youtu.be/GYqq9YBDKh8



Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page